Speakers & Panelists

Both SOLVE and the Climate CoLab conference featured keynote speakers and panelists who are leading experts on issues related to climate change and to new information technologies.  They include business people, politicians, NGO leaders, scientists, academics, entreprenuers, and others.

Keynote Speaker
Solve's Opening Convocation
Monday, October 5

Jeffrey D. Sachs
Director of The Earth Institute at Columbia University.  Prof. Sachs is a world-renowned professor of economics, leader in sustainable development, senior UN advisor, bestselling author, and syndicated columnist whose monthly newspaper columns appear in more than 80 countries.


Keynote Panel
Crowds & Climate
Tuesday, October 6
John Sterman
Director, MIT System Dynamics Group, 
MIT Sloan School of Management
Bina Venkataraman
Carnegie Fellow, New America
Chris Knittel
Director, MIT Center for Energy and Environmental Policy Research
Leslie Dewan
Co-founder & CEO, Transatomic Power; Member, MIT Corporation
Jason Jay
Senior Lecturer & Director, MIT Sloan Sustainability Initiative

Monday Sessions

Rafael Reif, President, MIT
Jason Pontin, Editor-in-Chief & Publisher, MIT Technology Review
Phillip A. Sharp, Institute Professor, MIT; Nobel Laureate
Rodney Brooks, Professor Emeritus, MIT; Founder and Chairman, Rethink Robotics
Angela Belcher, W.M. Keck Professor of Energy; Professor, Department of Biological Engineering and Department of Material Science and Engineering, MIT
Robert Armstrong, Director, MIT Energy Initiative; Chevron Professor of Chemical Engineering, MIT
Susan Hockfield (moderator), President Emerita, MIT
Anthony Fauci, M.D., Director, NIAID, National Institutes of Health
Kiran Mazumdar-Shaw, Chairman & Managing Director, Biocon Ltd
Mark McClellan, Senior Fellow, Brookings Institution
David Meeker, CEO, Genzyme
Tenley Albright, Director, MIT Collaborative Initiative
Chris Shipley, Executive Producer, Solve
Larry Roberts, Creator, ARPANET
Josette Sheeran, President & CEO, The Asia Society; formerly Director, World Food Program
Marcelo Claure, CEO, Sprint
Mark Dankberg, Chairman & CEO, ViaSat
Rich DeVaul, Director of Rapid Evaluation, Google
Yael Maguire, Director, Facebook Connectivity
Will Marshall, Co-founder & CEO, Planet Labs
Bill Aulet, Managing Director of the Martin Trust Center for MIT Entrepreneurship at MIT
Trish Cotter, Entrepreneur in Residence at the Martin Trust Center for Entrepreneurship at MIT
Michael Gale, Senior Program Manager, Global Giving

Tuesday Sessions

Lucia Grenna, Program manager for the Connect4Climate initiative
Dennis R. Costello, Managing Partner, Braemar Energy Ventures
Raymond S. Wood, Managing Director, Global Head of Power Utilities & Renewables, Bank of America, Merrill Lynch
Sgouris Sgouridis, Associate Professor, Masdar Institute of Science and Technology
Sarah Finnie Robinson, Founding Partner, WeSpire Inc.
Oliver Sellers-Garcia, Director of Sustainability and Environment, City of Somerville, MA
Silvia Pariente-David, former Senior Energy Specialist in the MENA region of the World Bank
Raj Pandya, Director of AGU?s Thriving Earth Exchange
Karim-Aly Kassam, International Professor of Environmental and Indigenous Studies, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences at Cornell University
Morgan Ruelle, Food Systems and Poverty Reduction IGERT, Department of Natural Resources, Cornell University
Barry Liner, Director, Water Science & Engineering Center at Water Environment Federation
Elizabeth Teague, Senior Associate for Environmental Performance, Root Capital
Jayant Sathaye, former Senior Scientist and Strategic Advisor, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
D. James Baker, former Administrator of the U.S. National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA), and current Director, Global Carbon Measurement Program, William J. Clinton Foundation
Kofi Taha, Associate Director, IDIN Innovation Center Coordinator
Kate Mytty, Co-instructor of MIT D-Lab: Waste
Christina Chase, Entrepreneur in Residence, MIT Martin Trust Center
Jason Jay, Senior Lecturer and Director, Sustainability Initiative at MIT Sloan
John Sterman, Director, MIT System Dynamics Group, MIT Sloan School of Management
Bina Venkataraman, Carnegie Fellow, New America; Lecturer, MIT's Department of Science, Technology & Society; Former Senior Advisor for Climate Change Innovation, Obama Administration
Leslie Dewan, Co-founder and CEO, Transatomic Power
Chris Knittel,  Director, MIT Center for Energy and Environmental Policy Research
Jeffrey Warren, Research Director, Public Lab
Tunney Lee, professor Emeritus, MIT Department of Urban Studies and Planning
Josh Eichen, Planner / Pratt Cneter for Community Development
Steve Fugarazzo, Manager Facilities Engineering & Enterprise Energy at Raytheon
John Dalzell, Senior Architect, City of Boston Redevelopment Authority
David Miller, Executive Managing Director, Clean Energy Venture Group
Ryan Wright, Founder and CEO, WrightGrid, LLC
Carl Nelson, CEVG, Clean Energy Venture Group
Prabir Purohit, Director, Power & Renewables, Bank of America Merrill Lynch,
...and more.